Thankful Thursday – Just a drop in the blessings bucket


The unthankful heart… discovers no mercies;
but let the thankful heart
sweep through the day and,
as the magnet finds the iron,
so will it find, in every hour, some heavenly blessings!
~Henry Ward Beecher

I have a lot to be thankful for in my life. I’ve been quite blessed. Even with my recent illnesses and depressed moments, I’ve always been aware of the wonderful parts of my life. Which is probably why Thanksgiving has always been my most favorite holiday.

But thankfulness shouldn’t be a once-a-year event. So that’s why I’m hoping to start posting a short list of things I’m thankful for on a regular basis. Following a sorta of family tradition where we put three kernels of unpopped corn on each plate at Thanksgiving, with the instructions that everyone should be able to name three things they’re thankful for, I’ll come up with three each week. What better way to remind myself of the things I’m thankful for?

Solar-powered kitty.

1. Mr. Bob. Seriously, I love this cat more than a human should probably love an animal. He’s my lover boy. He’s been a constant snuggle companion when I’ve been sick or studying. I don’t think I could sleep well without him on me somewhere.

Just your average wizards on a drinking spree.

2. I have some seriously awesome friends. I put out that I needed a hug on my Facebook page, and within a couple of hours I’d already gotten almost 20 responses. You folks are just awesome. I don’t have enough great photos of many of them, sadly. I’ll have to work on that.

Everyone can be a Rock Band star!

3. I live in a truly beautiful place. Even when the weather doesn’t do exactly what I’d like it to, it’s still beautiful. Of course, when the weather cooperates, it’s even more beautiful.

I hope to do this again this year.

Not a bad start.

What are you thankful for today?

Leave a comment