Pizza Night


I’ve been on a pizza kick lately. They’re pretty easy to make, and there’s always enough left-overs for lunch for both of us. While I’ve been trying out different dough recipes, lately I’ve had to fall back on the pre-made dough from Trader Joe’s. That’s the problem with not shopping at regular stores, when you run out of staples, you’re either out of luck, or you have to brave Safeway. Since I’m not eager to go to Safeway, but still want pizza, we thought we’d try the fridge dough TJ’s offers. It’s not my favorite, but it’ll do in a pinch.

It's easy-enough. Just let it warm up and then spread it out.

I had some left-over sauce from the last time I made it, so I just warmed it up. But it’s super easy to make. I take a can of tomato paste, cut it with a can-full of water, and add some spices — basil, oregano, etc.

Easy sauce, make sure to get it close to the edges.

I have Eric grate a package of mozzarella. I put about 60% of the cheese on the pizza first, and save the rest for later.

Get good coverage.

I’ve also been highly addicted to the portobello mushrooms and try to find a way to include them in every recipe.

Yum!

I’m also in love with pepperoni, but I’m trying to ween myself off it until I can find a nitrate/nitrite-free version.

Bacon is better than pepperoni.

We had half a red onion on the counter, so I sliced that up and spread it out. I left it raw so it could soften and caramelize in the oven.

Onions are so delicious with the bacon and cheese.

I also have this unexplainable think about canned black olives.

Can't have too many olives.

Here’s where you add the rest of the cheese to lightly cover the toppings. It will melt into and around the toppings and just make it so much cheesier.

This'll melt and cover some of the toppings.

Yum Yum Yum!

Leave a Reply

