R/W/L/P


It’s been a while, hasn’t it? Sorry about that. I’ve been busy with my SRPS blog.

Anyway, I thought I’d start off light with a short RWLP post to help me get back into the swing of things. In addition to doing a lot of research for various posts, I’ve also been taking in a whole lot of media.

Reading: Anne of Green Gables
I haven’t read Anne of Green Gables since I was a kid, but I’ve always had fond memories of it. Re-reading it as an adult was a wonderful blend of visiting old friends and discovering new insights about them. What I love about Anne is her uncanny ability to always see the best in people, even when they’re being down-right dreadful to her. And her wonderful sense of awe about the natural beauty around her. I have to wonder how much of her rubbed off on me when I was reading this book when I was a kid?

I never did read any of the sequels in the series, although I loved watching the CBC television show from the 90s. The Kindle book I bought a couple of weeks ago is actually the complete series as well as many other writings my Lucy Maud Montgomery. I cannot wait to dive into uncharted territory!

Watching: A lot of different things
I finally finished Gilmore Girls, and have been spending most of my time watching this and that, getting myself ready for the Fall series premiers of my favorite shows by watching the last couple of episodes from last season, including How to Get Away with Murder, Scandal, and The Good Wife. I’ve also been checking out some new and new-to-me shows, like Arrow (eh… I only like it so-so) and Quantico (the first episode seemed promising).

Eric and I finished watching Madoka Magica (what a great story!), and have just started watching Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex with the idea of watching through all the TV series and then the movies. It’s an ambitious goal, but with the weather turning cooler, it’s doable.

Listening To: Not much
It’s kinda sad, but working from home means I rarely spend any time in the car, and that means I rarely listen to the radio to hear anything new. And if I’m sitting at my desk, I seem more likely to queue up something to watch rather than something to listen to. Weird.

That said, I do follow several music blogs, and through them I do find new music to listen to once in a while. Most of which I wind up blogging about over on SRPS: Flint Eastwood, Elle King, and Ana Tijoux.

Maybe in preparation for the next RWLP post next week I’ll make it a point to log into Spotify and actually listen to some stuff.

Playing: Child of Light
Eric and I have been working our way through Child of Light. I’ve had it for quite a while, but never finished it. In fact, I really haven’t played much of it at all, as it turns out. It’s a lovely game, though, and I feel about ignoring it. I’m looking forward to playing more over the next couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

