Veggies!


IMG_0191
 
This week’s haul was enormous! Look at those beets! And, more importantly, look at those beet greens! More kale for more kale salad! Beautiful carrots. The last of the golden cheery tomatoes. (I just noticed that typo. I’m letting it stand. It makes me smile.) Some wonderful cauliflower. Potatoes and an onion. And, most exciting of all, lettuce! Look at those lovely little heads of greenery! I have special designs on those two teeny little red endives.

Last Week
First, before I dive into this week’s menu plan, a quick follow up on last week’s plan. OK, so, we had so many leftovers from the week before, and then there was an impulse to make pizza instead of soup, so, as of this writing, NONE of the recipes on the menu were actually made. Maybe later today. I’ll update this post with any changes.

This Week
Because of how little cooking happened last week, the plan for the coming week will probably a bit of a mash-up between things from last week and new things, because I’m going out of town for a week, starting on Wednesday, a lot of these veggies will probably get stored or frozen to use later. That’s how life goes, right? “Best-laid plans” and all that.

Sautéed Greens. Moving this up to the top of the list, as there are a whole lot of greens hanging out in my fridge right now. Kale, chard, beet greens, and broccoli and cauliflower leaves. So many greens. And mushrooms. And garlic and onions. And then into the freezer.

Roasted Green Tomato Salsa. Also still waiting are the green tomatoes. And green onions. And I found some peppers in the back of the crisper drawer that are still in good shape. So, they’re all going to get roasted up and turned into something delicious to go over fish or pork or something. Later.

Beet Salad. Like a real lettuce salad with roasted beets and some goat cheese. Oh, and maybe some dried, sweetened cranberries and walnuts. And a red onion. And balsamic dressing. Yum! I’ve been missing salad greens. They don’t grow well as a summer crop around here, but now that the temps have cooled off and the rain is back, we’ll be in tender greens for a while!

Roasted Cauliflower and Cheese. So I saw this post by Smitten Kitchen a week or so ago, and tried to make my own version of it but with a meat sauce and a bechamel sauce, thinking it would be kinda like a noodle-less pastitsio, but it didn’t turn out like I expected. It was still absolutely delicious, don’t get me wrong. And over orzo, it was probably the best meal we ate all week. But I think I should go back to the original plan of just cauliflower and cheese sauce in the oven. OK, maybe with extra garlic. And some wax potatoes. We’ll see what I actually come up with.

Bean, Chard and Chorizo Soup. This might get put on hold for a while. While I love it, I don’t know if I have time to make it this week, along with all the other prep work and cooking that needs to get done before I leave town. Since the beans are already dry, and the chorizo is still frozen, it can hold for a couple of weeks. It’s not like we’re going to stop getting chard any time soon.

Braised or Roasted Broccoli. I’m still craving this. In fact, I saw this recipe for roasted broccoli and faro that renewed my broccoli craving. I was actually toying with the idea of switching out the feta, or adding cauliflower. I’ll keep you posted.

The carrots will join the other carrots in the crisper drawer. The potatoes will keep well in the pantry. The tomatoes will get eaten as a snack, with every last one being savored in precisely the manner late-season tomatoes deserve.

Leave a Reply

