Grill-Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese


I love beets. I like them grilled, roasted, boiled, stewed, and I bet if fried beets were a thing, I’d like them too.

Heck, I even like canned beets. I mean, not just to eat so much. I like them in salads.

When it comes to cooking beets, there are lots of easy, low-mess ways. One of my favorites in the summer is to grill them in foil packets. OK, being honest here, I like to grill almost everything in foil packets all summer long. And winter.

IMG_1112
 
Beets are often paired with sweet yellow onions and other sweet vegetables (carrots and winter squash, typically), and while I love them in that combination, I was craving something a bit more savory. So I decided to make a more purple/red mix, using a red onion and some of the lovely red garlic from the farm. I also added some parsley and thyme, and then, of course, some creamy Chevre.

IMG_1128
 
Look how beautiful (and enormous) this Chioggia beet was! This was a two-pound beet! I don’t know how he does it, but the farmer grows some the largest and most delicious beets. They’re never woody. In fact, this one was on the smaller side. He had some four-pounders on my last visit. FOUR POUNDS OF BEET?!

IMG_1138
 
I love how the beets and onion and garlic all compliment each other not only gustatorially, but also visually. Swirls of purple and red and white.

Everything got cubed and tucked into a double layer of foil, drizzled with olive old and tossed with the herbs. The foil was wrapped up tightly and placed on a medium grill for about 30 minutes, turning every 10 minutes or so to let the juices mix and to make sure the beets cooked evenly. (Hint: you can also do this in the oven if you want.)

IMG_1148
 
Once they were done enough, I took them off the grill and let them rest on the counter with small steam vents cut into the foil packets while I cooked the rest of the meal (grilled Swedish style sausage — my favorite!).

IMG_1157
 
After they had a chance to cool some, I served them up in these cute little dishes I just love, and added a couple of dollops of creamy Chevre.

So so so delicious!

Leave a Reply

