Veggies!


IMG_0178
 
A little late posting this. Oops!

Had a good haul last week! Chard, green onions, green tomatoes, broccoli, kabocha-hybrid squash, cilantro, flageolet beans, and smoked chipotle peppers.

Last Week
First, before I dive into this week’s menu plan, a quick follow up on last week’s plan. We had a pot roast and cabbage soup. I made more tomato soup for the pantry. And I even made up a roasted cauliflower with cheese and extra garlic and a delicious meat sauce. It wasn’t pretty, and didn’t exactly turn out how I thought it would, but it was absolutely delicious.

The kale is still in the fridge, but I have big plans for it this week. And the celery got put in the freezer for use later this winter.

This Week
Kale and Squash Salad. I made a version of this recipe last year for Hogsgiving, and have been thinking about it ever sense. When I saw pear cider at Trader Joe’s last week, I bought it and with this week’s squash, I’ve got enough of the main ingredients to make it again! Woo hoo!

Bean, Chard, and Chorizo Soup. I just love these flageolet beans. So tender and creamy. Perfect when paired with chorizo. I made this soup a while back, and can’t wait to make it again!

Roasted Green Tomato Salsa. Although the longer I wait, the pinker they become. Perfect for using the cilantro and green onions as well. The goal is to make this as a topping over fish.

Braised Broccoli. The freezer is full of broccoli and cauliflower (and zucchini), so I’m trying not to add any more. So this broccoli will be cooked and eaten this week! I’ve been craving something spicy, so it’ll probably be braised with red pepper flakes and extra garlic.

Sautéed Greens. You might notice some extra broccoli greens in the photo. Other folks take them off their broccoli heads before taking them home. I grab them all and then mix them in with the kale and other greens. I don’t know why more people don’t eat them. They’re delicious. Whatever kale is left over from the salad will get sautéed with onions, mushrooms, and garlic, and served up with breakfast.

 

2 thoughts on “Veggies!

  1. Pingback: Veggies! | a full plate

Leave a Reply

