Veggies!


Another week of beautiful vegetables, all from my farmer friends at Tierra Vegetables!

IMG_0123
Here’s the main haul: cabbage, carrots, parsley, acorn squash, an enormous celery, strawberries, potatoes, and cauliflower. So much food I couldn’t fit it all in my canvas bag! Such a bounty of beauty!

IMG_0140
So, I bought more stuff! More kale, basil, garlic, serano peppers, and persimmons.

IMG_0129
Oh, and more tomatoes! Although I didn’t really buy these as much as barter for them. But still… YUM! So many vegetables I’m feeling almost a bit overwhelmed by what to do with them all. But I have a few ideas.

This Week
Pot Roast. Still on the list. Our dinner with friends got pushed back again, but seem pretty definite for next week. Regardless, I will be cooking pot Roast next week, even if it’s just for me and Eric. Using the potatoes, some carrots, and the fennel left over from last week.

Cabbage Soup. Eric has yet to have the time to make his famous cabbage soup, although I suspect it will happen tonight. If it doesn’t use up this third head of cabbage, then I’ll have to come up with a back-up plan. Probably something to do with sautéing and using for breakfast. Or another type of soup. Fortunately, cabbage keeps for a long while in the fridge.

Tomato Soup. Yes. More. This will be my fourth batch. I’m hesitant to call it the last, because this warm autumn is keeping the tomatoes coming, and once it’s canned, it’ll keep for a long time! Right now I have something like 12 quarts put away. That’s one quart a month until next year’s tomato canning season!

Roasted Cauliflower.We’ve got a whole lot of cauliflower and broccoli (and zucchini) in the freezer for use in the winter when the weekly boxes turn into bi-weekly boxes. I’m tempted to use this cauliflower to make some kind of garlic, cheesy cauliflower thing that’s roasted and then puréed and topped with cheese. Oh! Maybe served over some seasoned ground beef! I’ll keep you posted!

Sautéed Kale. With onion, garlic, and mushrooms. And eaten with breakfast. Yum!

The celery is the sticking point, really. While I’m tempted to do up some really yummy cream of celery soup, I’ll probably just chop it up and add it to the celery in the freezer for use in soups later this winter. Boring, I know. But there’s only so much fresh-cooked food two people can make and eat in a week!

The acorn squash is going to be stored for later. Maybe for stuffing. 

The parsley is being dried in the kitchen window and will be added to my currently-running-low jar in the cupboard. The basil will be chopped and frozen in an ice cube tray with olive oil (my favorite way to save basil).

The strawberries are being eaten one by one every time we walk through the kitchen. And the persimmons are being sliced and eaten with breakfast.

IMG_1163   IMG_0145
Last Week
Despite the lingering funk I’ve been experiencing, it’s been a pretty productive week. I got through quite a few things on the list from last week. I made the cream of broccoli soup, my third batch of tomato soup, roasted beets, and Eric made a huge batch of delicious salsa!

It’s fun to get back in to the kitchen again after taking so much time off for school. I still cooked, of course, but it wasn’t often that I had time to do anything more than just cook and eat the same go-to meals I seemed to rely on for years: pasta and sautéed veggies, happy bowl soup, and “clean out the fridge” frittata.

3 thoughts on “Veggies!

  1. Have you tried making the cabbage into a slaw? My favorite thing to do with extra cabbage is to shred it and use a thai type peanut sauce to make it into an asian style cole slaw. I can’t stand mayonnaise versions of slaw, but vinegar or peanut sauce I’m totally down with. Also, TOMATO SOUP! 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, yes! We do a lot of slaw when we’ve got a backlog of cabbage. But this soup is one of our favorites, and I’ve been looking forward to it for ages! Eric made it last night, as predicted, and it was sooooo good! Need to share the recipe, I think!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Veggies! | a full plate

Leave a Reply

