Meditation Monday – Hope


Today’s Question of the Day on Shakesville was “What gives you hope?” What a great writing-meditation prompt!

My short answer to the post was:

I find hope when I look for it. Lately, I’ve been taking a lot of hope in the fact that whatever little social media network I visit has a pretty vibrant young feminist community. In particular, I’m thinking of the people on Instagram sharing stories and support. It’s not perfect, but it’s something that makes me hopeful for the future.

My longer (and, technically, shorter) answer would look something closer to this: Me.

Hope is a gift I give myself. Every day, if I can afford it. Even when I’m down, or even depressed. Even when I’m tired, and feeling helpless and hopeless. I go out of my way to find what may be the smallest glimmer of hope. Something I can cling to when nothing else seems to be working.

when_all_other_lights_go_out_by_ramah_palmer-d41dyjx

‘And you, Ring-bearer,’ she said, turning to Frodo. ‘I come to you last who are not last in my thoughts. For you I have prepared this.’ She held up a small crystal phial: it glittered as she moved it…. ‘In this phial,’ she said, ‘is caught the light of Eärendil’s star, set amid the waters of my fountain. It will shine still brighter when night is about you. May it be a light to you in dark places, when all other lights go out. Remember Galadriel and her Mirror!’

It might be something as simple and yet profound as reminding myself that I don’t have to be perfect to love myself. That kindness toward myself should not be dependent on my successes, but instead should be doubled when addressing my failures.

Which is not to say it’s always an easy thing to do. It is not. But I know from experience that it is the only way to move forward.

What gives you hope?

(image source: When all other lights go out by Ramah-Palmer)

Leave a Reply

