Thankful Thursday


I don’t want to give the impression that my depression has me completely down and out. I’m not. I’m mostly functional. I just have to keep in mind that I can’t do everything, and need to take emotional breaks from time to time to rest up. I’m still going to class, and still visiting with friends. While there are some days when it takes all my energy to get out the door, I’m still doing it.

Part of this is due to the fact that I have such a wonderful support network. Eric is very kind and loving and helpful when I need a quiet space, a comforting hug, or a little extra help finding my motivation. I know I’m blessed to have him in my life, and am thankful for him and our relationship every day.

My friends are also quite wonderful. I’m always amazed at the reception I get from them when I mention my depression. Rather than feeling like it’s something I should hide, I know that many of them can relate in their own way, and in a way I’m speaking not just for myself but for them as well. And I never fear how my being so open will received. I trust my network completely. And in that, I am truly blessed.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

