The power of music


Someone asked me recently if there was a song that always gave me chills or made me emotional. Frankly, a lot of songs get me in the heart, and even more songs are associated with strong memories. But I couldn’t think of a particular song when asked.

Then, earlier this week I was driving home from visiting my dear friend in the hospital, and this song came on the radio:

And I found myself really struggling to not cry while driving. It’s not a terribly sad song, but the whole lost love theme struck a nerve. And made even more poignant now that Ms. Summer is lost to us as well.

And I’ve been thinking about it ever since then. It’s interesting to me that while it’s a disco song, and great for dancing, the lyrics are pretty sad:

Don’t it kinda strike you sad when you hear our song
Things are not the same since we broke up last June
The only thing that I wanna hear is that you love me still
And that you think you’ll be comin’ home real soon

I know I used to love this song when I was a kid, so there’s probably some bittersweet feelings around that as well. But I’m pretty sure as a child I didn’t quite get the full impact of the lyrics. Having some pretty significant life experience under my belt, the sense of loss and regret are what hit me hardest when I hear this song now. Even the redemption at the end isn’t enough to really overcome the sense of loss, or near-loss.

So, yeah, this song makes me cry.

What about you? What songs hit a nerve for you?

Leave a Reply

