Thankful Thursday – fast food!


I haven’t been cooking as much lately, and part of that is because Eric doesn’t always eat dinner, and it’s hard for me to motivate myself to cook a big dinner for just me. But that doesn’t mean I don’t have food on the brain. I’m still pretty much always thinking about food. I’d rather just snack. And thankfully summer is the time for the original “fast food” – fruit!

I’ve been picking up our weekly CSA stuff from Tierra Vegetables on Tuesdays. And then on Wednesday morning, I head over to the Santa Rosa Farmers Market to see what they’ve got. Lately I’ve been buying up fruit like it’s going out of style. Which it is. While we have a longer summer season than other places, it’s still a limited time.

I just can’t get enough peaches.

I make it a point to eat seasonal, locally-grown produce as much as possible, which gives Peach Season a new kind urgency. On average, I eat at least two peaches a day. This bowl of 6 peaches is already half-empty.

I’ve been buying up flats to freeze.

And even though Tierra has strawberries that produce all summer, I still can’t get enough. I’ve been buying a flat every other week or so. Right now, they just get cut up and put in the freezer. But I plan to make a huge batch of strawberry jam and syrup, with the hope of keeping my shelves stocked for winter.

A bowl of sugar!

One of my earliest memories is of me and my mom sitting under my Granny’s fig tree, eating figs. Apparently, my love of figs was renown among my aunts and great aunts. Aunt Gladys would so sweetly give me a plate full of canned figs whenever we’d visit her.

Figs have an even shorter season than stone fruits, and whenever I see them for sale, I buy them. This time, I bought TWO baskets. And already I’m wishing I’d bought more!

A summer counter!

I took this picture yesterday. Already the cilantro is half gone, the two blood oranges are gone, half the red tomatoes have been used up, and half those peaches and figs are in my tummy!

Leave a Reply

