Thankful Thursday


It’s Thankful Thursday again, and it’s my first blog post for the week! Well, first on this blog. I’ve been busy over at Smart Gardener. I even got to blog about MY garden, for once.

This week’s list:

Just relaxing under the heat lamp.

1. I’m thankful for the fantastic folks at Coddingtown Vet. I feel like I have been given a second chance with Bob because of their care. It’s been a roller coaster ride for the last two months, but all the work and tears have finally paid off. We’re down to giving him fluids only a couple of times a week, he’s starting to eat the food he’s supposed to be eating, and he’s happy and active and back to his normal self. He’s still super skinny, but I’m hoping we can work to get some more calories in him.

They are super helpful and kind every time I call them. They went out of their way to help me get extra fluids on their off day, when I forgot to cinch the line on a bag and had it leak out all over. They call weekly to check up on him. They know who I am when I call. They’re great people, and I know they’ll be there for me and Mr. Bob (and eventually Little Girl) for the long haul.

It’s finally blooming!

2. I’m thankful for the beautiful plants that have been given to me by my friend Madaline. This hydrangea was given to me the first winter we moved here, as a tiny little start. It nearly died that first summer, because I put it in the wrong place of the yard. When I moved it to this spot, it took over a year to recover. Last year, it was growing, but not ready to bloom. I was hoping we’d get some blooms on it this year, and I’m right! How lovely!

It still gets a bit too much sun during the weeks around the summer solstice, but soon the sun will move south again, and it will be in the dappled sunlight again.

So so so good!

3. Sorry for the crappy picture. I was so excited to eat it, I couldn’t wait to make sure I got a great photo. This is the test cooking of what I believe to be The Perfect Pizza recipe. I’ll be blogging about it again soon, with real photos and a recipe. But only because I finally figured out the crust problem. I’ve had the toppings dialed in for a while now, but have been trying so many different dough recipes, I haven’t been able to keep track. But my dear friend John sent me his recipe, and it’s perfect. It’s better than perfect! And I’m so thankful that I have a great foodie friend willing to share his recipes with me!

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. Pingback: Caturday « a full plate

Leave a Reply

