Monday Meditation – something to be proud of


“The only lifelong, reliable motivations are those that come from within, and one of the strongest of those is the joy and pride that grow from knowing that you’ve just done something as well as you can do it.”

Eric, me and Skylar, running toward the finish line.

I got a quick reminder lesson in pride and motivation from my 11 year old neighbor, Reyna. I have pretty well established myself as the person in the neighborhood who almost always has $5 in my wallet for anyone offering to do a little work project for me. Reyna is my biggest helper, and she’s such a joy to have around. She’s always willing to get her hands dirty pulling weeds. She’ll happily sweep my nasty kitchen floor, and vacuum up weeks of cat hair off the rug. She’ll sort papers and move books, and whatever else I come up with to help her earn a little pocket money.

When she came over on Friday afternoon, she was so excited to tell me about her day. She said that they had to run a mile in gym class, and how sore her legs are. But then she said, “I’m so proud of myself! I ran the whole thing without stopping! And I beat my time from the last time!” She went on to explain how she managed to keep going, even though she really wanted to stop. “I ran the first two laps just jogging, and I really wanted to stop. But I also wanted to beat my time, so I made myself run really hard until the finish.”

Isn’t that what’s it’s all about? You set a goal, your work on it, and even when you want to give up, you just keep pushing.

I’ve bought myself a new pair of running shoes. And I guess, taking my lead from Reyna, it’s time to set a goal and get started working toward it. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

