Mugging for the camera


I have an obsession that is difficult to explain. I can’t stop shopping for and buying mugs. Specifically, old, used mugs.

Just a sample of all the mugs I've bought.

But not just any old mugs. Funky, pretty, weird all work. Whenever I go to a thrift store of garage sale, I am drawn to the mugs and I wind up taking at least one home.

Do what with? Well, that’s a good question. I’m not always sure what I’m going to do with it. I don’t drink from them — we already have lots of mugs in service, and I’m actually pretty picky about what I drink my tea out of. No, these mugs go in my craft room. Some wind up in service as flower vases or containers.

A little pretty to brighten up my day.

I already showed you this pitcher being used as a vase. How about these two tea cups in my bathroom?

For my homemade face wash and deodorant.

But most are, hopefully, destined to become part of a blanket and cup set. I don’t know how I’m going to market these, but I’ve been obsessed with matching fabrics and mugs lately. I haven’t been doing any sewing, but I have a large stash of fabrics that will pretty much match every mug on the table, plus some.

I love this one. So pretty!

This one is made with two purple pillow shams that I sewed together and backed with thick and soft purple napkins. I searched for a matching  mug for ages. This one is perfect!

So colorful and fun!

I actually found this fabric and these mugs (I bought several of them) on the same day at the same Goodwill. How perfect is that? In this case, I matched it with a matching blue pillow case with sunflowers, to make a lightweight blanket, perfect for chemo patients to carry back and forth to their treatments.

A bit thicker, with stripes!

As you can see, I bought a lot of this fabric (really, here’s where I share that it was a set of sheets), so I had enough to make this blanket, backed with some green fleece, to which I sewed some ribbon stripes.

Bright and cheery!

And this one was my first. It’s made with some cute pajama bottoms with mice playing in the flowers. I saw this mug on the shelf and immediately knew it would look good together.

+ + +

All of these blankets were made last year, and originally listed on Etsy as care packages, with blankets, mugs, activity books, tea and fancy matching pencils. I only sold a couple of them online and at the few crafts fairs I attended.

Of course, I’d love to make more blankets and sell them, if only I had more free time to do the work. Maybe when school is out. Also, I’m researching different sites for selling. I just haven’t been happy with Etsy lately, and have let my listings there lapse. If you know of other online sites that might be a good place to list my blankets and mugs, or other crafts, let me know!

 

 

One thought on “Mugging for the camera

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites | a full plate

Leave a Reply

