Orange Salmon – a variation on a favorite


Years ago, I found a recipe in a magazine for salmon with a lime-soy glaze. I’ve since lost the recipe. Well, more likely, I followed the recipe once, and then started improvising on it and it slowly morphed into something I make pretty often. At least when we can get some good wild-caught salmon.

A couple of weeks ago, we bought a box of little Cuties at Trader Joe’s. OK, I’ve been buying boxes since before Christmas, and going through about a box a week. But this last box is filled with in-edible cuties. They’re just too sour for my taste. But I hate throwing out otherwise perfectly good food, so I thought I’d trying juicing them and seeing if I could cook with the juice. And, I just happened to have some frozen salmon in the freezer.

Pretty colors!

For these sauce, I used:
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon dried tarragon (you can also use 2 teaspoons fresh, chopped)
1 tablespoon chopped fresh ginger (you can also use 1 teaspoon powdered)
3 or 4 garlic cloves, minced or crushed
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1/4 cup dry white wine
1/2 cup orange juice

Mix everything in a bowl and let it sit while you cook the salmon.

Smells really good!

Place the salmon fillets in a hot skillet. Just set it down and let it sit. Don’t touch it at all. I know it’s tempted to poke or prod it, but don’t. You want it to stick to the bottom of the skillet. Let it on one side until the fish starts to cook on that side and juices start coming off it.

Listen to it sizzle!

While the salmon is cooking on the first side, I chopped some red cabbage to use as a bed to place the fish, and to give us a vegetable for the place.

Pretty purple cabbage.

Once the fish starts to cook on the first side, it’s time to flip it. Do it quickly, and then, again, don’t touch it. It’s OK if you leave some of the skin or meat on the bottom of your skillet. You’ll use that later.

Lost a little of the skin, but it's OK.

But then I thought the red cabbage might be a bit bitter next to the orange sauce, so I added some shaved carrots. I just took my vegetable peeler and made long strips.

Pretty colors!

When the fish is ALMOST DONE, take it out of the skillet and set it aside someplace warm. It’ll keep cooking itself while it’s sitting, so it’s important to take it off a teeny bit sooner than you think you should. Now your skillet will look something like this:

Save the browned bits!

Not to worry! Here’s where you add the sauce and let it reduce. While it’s bubbling and boiling, take a spatula or spoon and stir it around, making sure to scrap up the browned bits into the sauce.

Let it boil, baby, boil!

When it gets pretty thick, you’re ready to take it off the heat and prepare you plate. Put down your bed of veggies, place the fish on top, and spoon the thickened sauce over top. Yum!

It smells sooooo delicious it brings Eric downstairs asking if dinner's ready yet.

Pour yourself a glass of a nice light wine and enjoy!

Ready to eat?

Leave a Reply

