Thankful Thursday – attitude adjustment


I’m going to have to make this a quickie post. I have so so so much homework to get done, and I’m so stressed out I feel like throwing up.

But even with that stress, I know the importance of acknowledging my gratitude, even if it’s just for a few minutes in a busy day. In this case, I’m thankful for the various stress-management, self-care habits I’ve been able to maintain even in times of extreme stress.

Mr. Bob enjoying some afternoon sunshine in "Grandpa's chair."

1. I’m thankful for this sunny weather, even though it means we’ll likely have to deal with drought this summer. It’s amazing how warm sunshine on the skin can improve a mood. Even though I haven’t been able to spend as much time in my own garden as I’d like, I have been working in the campus garden quite a bit, and it feels more like a mini-break than required school work. And for the hour or so I spend watering and weeding and chatting with other students does wonders for keeping me feeling a bit more balanced than I would otherwise.

The pond turtles are enjoying the sun.

2. I’m thankful that I have been able to spend extra time on campus this week, exploring the grounds and enjoying the beauty. In fact, SSU was named one of the most beautiful campuses. Just walking from my car to class gives me plenty of opportunities to enjoy the beauty of the plants, the birds, and feel a connection with nature.

3. I’m thankful that, when I showed up at the Charlie Brown Cafe this morning feeling really down and overwhelmed, the staff had the music turned up a bit louder than normal, and tuned to the old school R&B station. It’s really amazing how quickly a little Reverend Green, Stevie Wonder, Jackson Five, and Aretha can turn my mood around.

Leave a Reply

