Impatient


I love winter. I love cold weather and gray days and snuggling up on the couch with a blanket, a cup of warm tea, and a good movie. I love going to visit the snow (and when I lived in the snow, I loved it there too). I love wearing sweaters and hats and boots.

Eric and me on a snowshoe hike to Dewey Point in Yosemite in 2010.

Don’t get me wrong, I also love spring, summer, and autumn. I love each season in turn. Each season has its own beauty. And I look forward to each as they come around. Each one brings new experiences and new adventures.

Eric and me, taken by my dear friend Cat, on my birthday hike in 2011.

This winter has been pretty weird, even by Northern California standards. Cold and dry, and then warm and dry. The last warm spell lasted almost four weeks. There hardly any snow in the mountains, and we’ve never been tempted to make a point to go skiing, which is my favorite winter activity. It just not worth the expense and time if there’s no good snow.

Last week, I was wearing short sleeves and even got a bit sun-kissed working in the garden. When I stopped into the garden center to pick up some new sweet pea seeds (for my tee-pea), I saw some optimistic tomato seedlings and could not resist the urge to purchase one.

San Francisco Fog tomato, in a pot, next to the garage, so it gets radiated heat.

I know it’s silly. In fact, as soon as I planted it, the weather turned cold again, and we’ve had a couple of light frosts since then. But I just had to buy it. It symbolizes my near-giving up on winter for this year. I’m officially just waiting for spring at this point. There’s a chance I’ll get to go skiing, but I’m not going to hold my breath or do a rain/snow dance. I’ll enjoy the trip to the mountains, and decide whether the slush is worth renting skis for.

I found a tomato cage, and use it to hold up a plastic bag which should protect it from the cold.

In the meantime, I’ll guard my hope-for-spring tomato and see what happens.

4 thoughts on “Impatient

    • Oh, thank you. Yes, we try to get in some good hikes every now and then. I’d like to do more, but making the time for them is sometimes a challenge.

      A birthday hike was a new tradition I wanted to start that year. My birthday is Jan 1, and I was tired of spending it feeling hung-over, but I didn’t want to give up celebrating altogether. A hike is a nice way to mark a new year, but it’s terribly strenuous, so I can still have a couple of glasses of champagne.

      Like

  1. Ooh I’m getting so excited reading this. I’m actually pulling out my salvia to make veggie beds… maybe this weekend.

    I’ve never seen plastic bags before, but I’m not sure there’s been a frost here in many years.

    Like

    • The plastic bag is an experiment to try and keep it warm enough to grow, while still allowing some light through. We’ll see how it turns out. I have a fun contest with another gardener friend who refuses to plant tomatoes before May 1. My hope is that the warmth from the pot, plus the radiating heat from the wall will help it stay warm and start to grow sooner. If not, I’m only out the $2.99 for the seedling.

      Like

Leave a Reply

