Feeling a bit crabby


No, not really. I’m actually super happy! It’s crab season! Every January, Eric’s office has their annual Crab Feed, and we always go and gorge ourselves on delicious crab flown in from Eureka, CA.

Endless bowls of crab!

Oh, sure, there’s other food there, but it’s the crab that’s important! They keep filling these bowls until everyone is totally stuffed!

We brings bags to take home our shells.

We actually brought home two bags of shells this year, as we enlisted the shells from our tablemates as well.

They stayed in the freezer for a while.

I’m hoping to make some seafood gumbo for our Mardi Gras party next week, and figured crab stock would make a great base. So I pulled one of the bags out of the freezer and let it begin to thaw, while I chopped and sautéed veggies.

First, the onion

One of the last farm onions.

Sauté the onions in a little oil. You know me, I used bacon fat.

One of the best smells in the whole world.

Add the celery. Weirdly, I didn’t take a photo of the celery. But, you know… it’s celery. Nothing exciting.

Yum!

And then the carrots.

Aren't they lovely?

Add them to the onions and celery. And some tiny bits of garlic.

Colorful!

The story behind the tiny bits of garlic? Oh, well, during the winter, we get storing garlic from the farm, but they make tiny little cloves. Too tiny, in my opinion, to use for much. I pick out the bigger cloves and use them when cooking, and save these little ones to use in stock.

My garlic jar.

Then it’s time to add the crab shells.

Cover with hot water.

Bring to a boil and then turn it down to simmer for as long as possible I like to cook my stock for at least 8 hours to get the maximum flavor. Just be sure to check it once in a while and replace any water that it loses.

So beautiful. And the house smells sooooo good!

Let it cool, and then strain it. I don’t do the cheesecloth straining, since I’m not really planning on making a soup with the clear broth.

Look how rich that stock looks!

I got three good containers from this batch. Let’s see if I can come up some good uses for it.

So dark. So delicious!

Have you made seafood stock? What do you think?

3 thoughts on “Feeling a bit crabby

Leave a Reply

