Candied nuts


I got it into my head that I wanted to make a special beet, walnut, and chevre salad for later this week. Once I’d settled on that, I decided I also wanted to try my hand at candying the walnuts. Once I’d bought the walnuts and checked out a couple of sites with instructions on candying nuts, I decided I really wanted to candy them with maple syrup.

So, here’s how it went:

Spread out on the pan.

Every site I checked suggested I should roast the walnuts first. So I spread them out on a cookie sheet and put them in a 350 degree F oven for about five minutes.

To make the candy coating, I took about 1/4 cup of turbinado sugar, which is just a fancy way of saying “raw” sugar. I like to use this sugar in my tea and certain desserts where the sugar will be getting a lot of flavor attention. It has a nice mellow molasses flavor, but not as strong as brown sugar.

Gives a great molasses flavor.

I put the sugar in a small sauce pan, and then added about 1/4 cup of maple syrup. And a dash of salt. Salt always goes well with sugar and fat. Yum!

I love the maple syrup smell as this cooks!

Stir constantly over medium heat, until the mixture starts to boil. Have the walnuts handy, because the window for adding them to the sugar mixture is very short.

Bring to a boil.

There. It’s ready. Add the walnuts and stir them, making sure to coat them all evenly.

Mix in the walnuts.

Turn them out onto the cookie sheet and spread them apart so they don’t stick to each other.

Spread on cookie sheet to cool.

Done! All in all, it took less than 10 minutes, and they’re quite delicious. Now I have to keep myself from eating them all before I make the salad. But, I guess, even if I do, I can easily make more.

I might eat them all tonight.

2 thoughts on “Candied nuts

  1. There is nothing to top a good salad like a candied nut. One of my favorite salads is one Kate makes with lettuce, dried cherries, shaved parmesan, candied pecans, and a dressing made from dijon mustard and champagne vinegar. I LOVE it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

