Happy Birthday to Me


I got some really sweet birthday presents from others, and have heard rumors about others arriving shortly via post and delivery. I’ll share those as they come in.

Today’s post is about the birthday presents I gave myself.

First of all, on my actual birthday, I slept in late, lingered in bed snuggling and snoozing with the ones I love, and then spent a fun day of adventure with friends. We went for a walk in Armstrong Woods and I had Eric take this terribly unflattering photo of me inside a tree.

I love the big trees!

Yes, I am wearing a shirt that says, “Full of Awesome.” Because, duh, I am.

After our hike, we drove out to the coast to catch the last bit of the sun setting into the Pacific Ocean.

Big Blue

Afterwards, we drove home, ordered pizza and played games and watched Serenity for about the zillionth time. Pretty perfect birthday, if you ask me!

+ + +

While we were on our way out to the forest, we stopped to get sandwiches and coffee at the Coffee Bazaar in Guerneville. I just love this place and stop in there pretty much every time I’m in Guerneville. While we were waiting for our food, I poked around in the Twice Told Tale bookstore, which shares the space. I found two great old cook books I just had to have. So I bought them for myself!

Yay!

I love collecting rare and random old cookbooks. Even if I never cook anything out of them, I just enjoy reading them. You’d be amazed at how much historical and cultural info you can learn about times past by reading their cookbooks.

Miss Manners would be proud!

And it’s filled with these great old photos with tips on how to be a good housewife!

Don't want your house smelling bad?

I’ve already spent several hours pouring over these two books.  And they already have a place of honor on my cookbook shelf.

Do you buy yourself birthday presents?

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me

  1. Personally, I love the pungency of cooking vegetables. People are weird. I bought myself a really expensive pair of boots this year with collected birthday cash. I LOVE them. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Happy New Year 2013 « a full plate

Leave a Reply

