Unresolved


I don’t generally go in for making New Year’s Resolutions. It’s just too much pressure on an already important day for me. See, my birthday is January 1. Which, actually, is pretty freakin’ cool. Every year, I get to have a huge party, and it’s pretty rare that folks forget my birthday.

But birthdays are already a bit stressful. It’s a time where we are naturally inclined to self-reflection and goal-setting. Add to that the whole end-of-year thing, and that’s just too much.

That said, I do give myself a “gift” every year. It’s a pretty turquoise Tiffany’s box with a white ribbon. Inside the box are my wishes for myself for the coming year, written on colorful scraps of paper.

It looks so pretty sitting on my shelf.

I keep it on the shelf in my bedroom, with my little jewelry cases, pretty jars, and my tiara.

OK, so the ribbon is a bit ragged, but only because I open it so often.

When I’m feeling a bit low, I like to open it and remind myself of what I’m working for.

All my wishes for the coming year.

It’s a nice reminder when life gets a bit hectic and busy.

What do you do for your birthday? Anything special?

3 thoughts on “Unresolved

  1. Happy belated birthday! Wow, what an easy day to remember.

    Honestly, I don’t like birthday fuss or holiday fuss all that month. Conversely, I very much like normal days so it all balances out. 🙂 My boys always try to do big things for me on birthday, all I really want is a nap and to go out for steak.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Christmas Gifts – I think they’ve got me pegged « a full plate

  3. Awesome birthday. And I feel the same way about January 1 since it’s my anniversary. We always get the day off, and there is always something fun going on to help celebrate. Plus, it’s just really easy to remember. Yay for January 1. Happy belated birthday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

