The Color Purple


Shug: More than anything God love admiration.
Celie: You saying God is vain?
Shug: No, not vain, just wanting to share a good thing. I think it pisses God off when you walk by the color purple in a field and don’t notice it.
Celie: You saying it just wanna be loved like it say in the bible?
Shug: Yeah, Celie. Everything wanna be loved. Us sing and dance, and holla just wanting to be loved. Look at them trees. Notice how the trees do everything people do to get attention… except walk?
Shug: Oh Miss Celie, I feels like singing!

I remember when I first saw the movie The Color Purple. I’d gone to see it with my parents as a teenager, and then we went to dinner afterwards. The movie was so deeply affecting, I had to excuse myself and go to the restroom and have a good little cry. It’s still one of my favorites.

In my Tickled Pink post, I showed you all my lovely pink flowers. Folks who know me know that my favorite color is pink. But folks who look in my garden might guess it’s purple. I have more purple in my yard than any other color. In fact, the small strip of dirt between the fence and the driveway is a dedicated purple area, with all purple flowering plants.

The little bees love this

Sadly, this guy isn’t blooming much in this photo, but it’s been a steady-state bloomer pretty much year-round. And the bees just love it.

Wonder where this will find a home?

I bought two of these salvia plants at the fair, but haven’t put them in the ground yet. I’m holding off, waiting for inspiration for where these might thrive the best. They’re a little tall for existing areas, but I can see where I might have a place for them in the front yard once I get the pre-work done. Baby steps.

The butterflies love these!

These pansies are so pretty, and as long as I keep putting out beer to drown the slugs, they’re not getting completely eaten up yet.

It's such a cute little bush

I bought his little bush plant the first summer in the house. It nearly died that summer because it didn’t get watered enough. Looks pretty good now, though, huh?

One lingering bloom on my butterfly bush

I’m still waiting for the other butterfly bush to flower again so I can compare colors. I think this one is a bit closer to lavender while the other is more periwinkle.

Happily blooming all summer long

I bought a pair of African Daisies last summer and they’re both doing pretty well, although this one has out-paced the other one by almost 2 times.

First little bloom on last year's growth

This little guy is a Cerinthe – Pride of Gibraltar. I started a couple of seeds last fall, but this was the only one that came up and survived. Interestingly, this flower is on last year’s growth. I wonder if it will fill in a bit more once the tree that is shading this spot drops its leaves.

Pretty little Alyssum flowers, still around three summers later

These alyssum were planted the first winter, and have survived two years, although I wouldn’t stay they’re exactly thriving. The fuzzy plants growing around them are the seedlings from the ONE Nigella – Love in the Mist plant in that spot last autumn. I cannot wait to see the pretty blue and purple flowers that will eventually carpet this area.

Pretty purple ground cover

Frankly, I can’t remember the name of this plant, and it looks like it’s barely holding on. I hope that it gets more sun when the tree that is shading this area finally drops its leaves. The white companion I planted nearby didn’t make it, sadly.

How magnificent!

And the crowning jewel of purple in my yard right now is this enormous aster … I dunno, would you call it a bush? A thicket? A pile? It was given to me as a gift by the same friend who gave me the lovely pink flowering maple. I planted it here, not realizing how tall it would get and that by the time it was ready to flower, the sun would be mostly gone from this area, causing it to stretch out even further. But, even with it practically on its side, it’s glorious! And continually humming with the sounds of bees and butterflies visiting it all day long.

When I spoke to a master gardener about it lying down like this, he expressed surprise that I didn’t cut it down mid-summer to control its height. Honestly, that had never occurred to me. I may have to give it a try next summer.

+ + +

Completely coincidentally, while I was typing this up, a ran across a comment on another blog about how today is Spirit Day, where folks are encouraged to wear purple to show support for LGBTQ youth. I hadn’t known that when I picked today’s picture theme, but I’m quite pleased that it is a nice coincidence.

 

3 thoughts on “The Color Purple

Leave a Reply

