Early Rain


It has started raining here, a bit early for this area, continuing the two year trend of weird weather. Monday was a rainy day, and it was a bit wet yesterday during the day, but fortunately didn’t really start to rain-rain until I was already home and safely inside. It rained quite heavily last night.

But this morning dawned clear and beautiful. Everything was still very wet, but I decided to spend a little time outside planting my new personal-bribe flowers.

The clay/mud was very difficult to really work with, so I only give a passing attempt to de-rock the newly uncovered patch of yard. I figured I’ll get a chance to work in this space again next summer when these winter flowers start to suffer and need to be moved to someplace a bit less exposed.

Awww... look how pretty!

The snapdragons and stock were bought as a bride to get myself to go to my horrid Spanish class. I swear, this is the very worst college class I have ever taken, and I’ve taken a whole lot of undergrad level classes over the years (I’ve got 120+ credits to my name). I’m currently entertaining the idea of dropping the class, although I think it’s really just an enjoyable fantasy rather than a genuine plan of action. It doesn’t make sense to quit since I’d have to pay back part of my grant, and I’d have to completely write off the money I’ve spent on the textbook and online program. Oh, well. I’ve been through some pretty tough situations in my life, and I’m sure I’ll get through this one too. In the end, it’s just a class, right? Not even a class for my major, just a personal enrichment class.

Just like with my unorthodox plan to get the front yard to look the way I’d like, I suppose I can just make up my mind on the best approach to this class FOR ME, rather than worry about what the professor thinks or whether it’s generally considered the proper way to treat a class. I think that’s what I’ll be working on this afternoon while I sit in my front room and look out the window at my lovely flowers.

An easy chair with a view!

3 thoughts on “Early Rain

  1. I’m jealous that you can plant flowers now. We’re getting close to our first freeze soon, when nothing will grow for another 8 months. 😦 And if I were you I think I’d just find an area of town where Spanish is the primary language and immerse yourself. Culture and language all in one. 🙂

    Like

  2. Well, we might get a freeze, but probably not until late December or January. We got one a couple of years ago that killed my avocado tree that I’d started from seed. That was a sad day. Since then, I’ve paid a bit more attention to the weather forecast.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Tickled Pink! « a full plate

Leave a Reply

