Progress


I know you want to know more about the progress of moving rocks. How couldn’t you? It’s so exciting!

I didn’t spend as much time outside today. I had things to do inside and a couple of errands to ride (ride, because I take my bike, which is awesome). But I did get outside for about 30 minutes and cleared more of the corner of the front yard.

This is pretty much what it looked like last week. Lots of weeds, and a good 2 inches of loose rocks, at least.

Rocks, rocks, and more rocks.

I’d already begun moving rocks out of this area to spread around in another small bed that I was weeding.

Driveway strip, cleared and re-rocked.

There was already a shallow layer of rocks here, but the weeds were coming up around them. Since this area doesn’t get any water from the sprinkler system (the hose is broken before it gets to this spot, and I don’t want to bother fixing it yet) I planted a couple of drought-tolerant plants here last summer. They survived quite nicely, and even grew a bit over the winter. The flowers on these make me very happy. So colorful!

Yesterday, I moved the rest of the the loose rocks to the bed by the street, where I transplanted the lavender bush.

And this is what was left:

Really, another 2 inches of rocks there.

I know, it looks like it’s mostly dirt. Really, though, there’s another two inches of rock half buried in the dirt. I spent about 30 minutes breaking this little section up and carting the rocks over to the side of the driveway.

I didn’t want to have to wait until I weeded that next part of the driveway strip (same strip as the flowered picture above) because my primary focus in the front yard. Plus, there’s a lot of dirt mixed in with these rocks, and I’d like to devise a way of removing the dirt before I put the rocks in this bed, or it will just give the weeds something to latch onto.

That's a lot of rocks.

Finally, I made my way down to the actual dirt/clay. It’s packed hard. Luckily I was able to borrow a tiller from a friend, and with any luck I’ll get some gas for it this weekend, along with some nice compost to mix in and soften this up. I can finally feel like it might actually happen!

Now that's the dirt.

I’m going to leave the lavender plants that are along the fence. I hope that once I work some nutrients into the soil around them, they’ll actually start to get more bushy and happy looking.

Like this little pink lavender bush I planted last summer. Just barely holding on. Just like the French lavender to its right. The Mexican lavender to its left is a bit happier, but could still use some attention.

Pink lavender? Isn't that called "mauve?"

Still a lot of work to do, but I feel like I’m gaining momentum.

One thought on “Progress

  1. Pingback: Tomato Trellis « a full plate

Leave a Reply

