Confession


I have a confession to make. I’m really rather embarrassed about this, but I feel like I need to make it public so I can overcome it.

I have been eating instant oatmeal two or three times a week for several months now. As a self-proclaimed foodie who really abhors food from boxes and bags, this has been my dirty little secret. See, I have an 8:30 class, and I just can’t make myself get up early enough to eat breakfast at home, so I needed something I could take with me and eat during break.

I know. There are plenty of take-with foods that are a better choice in every respect than instant oatmeal — better nutrition, less sugar, more protein, less processing, better tasting, etc.

The worst part? I’ve been railing against people buying oatmeal from places like McDonald’s and Starbucks, and explaining to them how easy it is to make steel cut oats at home. I’ve even shared my recipe for mixing quinoa and other grains in to boost the nutrition.

This just goes to show that everyone has an area they’re still working on.

I promise, when classes start up again next week, I’ll leave the remaining packets of oatmeal in the cupboard and come up with something better, and more in-line with my food values.

 

Leave a Reply

