Crouton and on and on!


I love crusty bread with a bowl of hearty soup or with a roasted chicken. But we rarely finish the whole loaf before it gets stale. I know I wrote about making French toast with stale bread last week. But what do you do with a savory bread?

Leftover bread makes the best croutons.

Make croutons, of course! It’s super easy.

Cut the bread into cubes.

First, you have to cut the bread into cubes. I like smaller cubes, but you can make large cubes if that’s what you like. Just make sure you keep the size relatively uniform so they cook at the same time.

For seasoning, there are a lot of what you can do, from sautéed garlic in butter, minced onions, green onions, etc. For this batch, I used the delicious garlic-infused olive oil Eric’s mother brought us recently. I love this oil on croutons and salads. The garlic is quite strong, so I have to make sure not to use too much.

I love this oil!

Put the bread cubes in a large bowl and drizzle the oil over them,  making sure to coat each cube evenly. I also sprinkled some sea salt. To make this easier, I put them in a bowl with a lid, and then shook them around to make sure each cube got just the right amount of oil and salt.

Then, spread them on a wide cookie sheet, making sure they aren’t too clumped up, and pop them in a 350ºF oven for about 15 minutes. I take them out a couple of times to turn them over with a spatula.

All golden and crunchy and done!

Look at these things! Don’t they look good? And I have to tell you they made my house smell divine! They will certainly add a punch of flavor to any salad. Also, surprisingly, they’re great in soup! And they’re so easy to make, it’s ridiculous. The only hard part is to not eat them all between now and dinnertime!

Leave a Reply

