Rainy day – R/W/L/P


A small forum I frequent occasionally has a post “R/W/L” which means “reading, watching, listening” and is a place for folks to share what they’re, well, reading, watching or listening to. I like that. It is a great way to talk about what I’m currently enjoying, while also getting ideas for what I want to pick up next. There are some of us in the forum who also include “playing” to talk about what games we’re involved in, and I’d like to include that here as well.

So, what are you R/W/L/P these days? Anything good?

Reading: Right now, I’m reading Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett for my online book club. I’m only about 75 pages in, but so far I am enjoying it immensely. It’s very subtle and cool — typical British dry humor — and I find myself stopping to share passages with Eric. I can see how some people wouldn’t like it. It’s certainly not for everyone. But I can also see why it is so cherished by those who truly love it.

Watching: I’m pretty much addicted to Being Human, which is playing in order on BBCA this week. Frankly, whenever I turn on the TV and see a new episode on my TiVo, I pretty much write off anything productive I had planned for the day. It’s not high art, but it is emotionally engaging. And I adore the quirkiness. Again, more of the British humor.

Listening: I usually skip this part, because I’m really not into new music. But of late, I have been on a classic country and bluegrass kick. I have a Johnny Cash station on Pandora, and it’s been getting a lot of playtime over the last week or so. It’s full of Johnny and June Carter Cash, Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson, Allison Krauss, Flatt and Scruggs, Buck Owens, and all kinds of other goodness.

Playing: Eric and I have been having a whole lot of fun playing in the Rift beta this week, and I expect there will be many hours of Rift going on this weekend. And, of course, the launch is next week, and we’ll be playing more. I’m really enjoying the scenarios. And (here’s the real test of what I think) the PvE doesn’t drive me insane. I can actually explore the world without wanting to stab someone. That’s a good sign. I love the world more than I loved the world in Warhammer Online. And I love the scenarios even more.

So, that’s it in a nutshell. What are you enjoying? What would you recommend?

One thought on “Rainy day – R/W/L/P

  1. I love Good Omens. My favorite author & my husband’s, all in one.

    I’m on a big postmodern fiction kick, reading a lot of David Mitchell and Iain Banks. I’m listening to Jim Butcher’s Codex Alera series, but not getting as into it as my husband is. I like the Dreaden Files a lot more.

    I’m with you on the music. About the only new discovery I’ve had is Florence and the Machine. But yay for classic country!

    I can’t get enough of Fringe. It pulls a lot from the X-Files, and it’s frequently ridiculous, but I love it anyway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

