Tolerance


I spent the better part of today sorting people in my newly-downloaded TweetDeck. I’ve been trying to spend more (productive) time online. And the basic Twitter set-up was starting to get confusing and frustrating to use. As of this afternoon, I’ve sorted most of the people/organizations I am following into at least one of something like 8 categories. I hope this will make it easier for me to be more active on twitter without having to spend a lot of time sifting through posts. Although I can also see how it might make it easier for me to compulsively check and re-check for new posts.

When I just couldn’t take another minute of looking at my laptop screen, I decided to go outside and enjoy the sunshine and warm-ish weather weeding and straightening up my little driveway bed. It’s what I call my “purple bed” because it’s mostly filled with different shades of purple flowering plants. Only the African Daisies are flowering right now. The alyssum is still barely holding on. It has never really taken to the ground there, strangely. I also transplanted a couple of the seedlings that I started several weeks ago and have been sheltering inside for far too long. I hope they’re able to survive the cold night. I might go put some covers over them just in case.

Most of my time was spent pulling up little weed and grass sprouts before they get too much of a hold. I find weeding to be very meditative. I find myself letting my mind wander and usually wind up working on some idea or problem that has been hanging around, waiting for a quiet moment.

Today’s topic was tolerance. I have noticed lately that there seems to be a number of people with whom I generally enjoy talking who have taken rather intolerant stances. In particular, I’m thinking of a couple of friends who happen to be atheists. I have seen several people go through extensive Twitter or Facebook posting phases where they feel the need to go on and on and on about why they are atheists, providing link after link supporting their atheism, post after post making accusations toward religious organizations, and asking rhetorical theological questions that they don’t really want an answer to.

What is interesting about this to me is that they think they’re doing everyone a service, as though they will be able to convince “believers” that they are wrong, and they newly-non-believers will jump up and say, “I see the light for what it truly is from a purely scientific point of view!”

How is this different than any other kind of evangelizing? You know, that same evangelizing that they’re so eager to ridicule?

Leave a Reply

