Beets and Greens


I wrote yesterday about the beautiful birthday hike we went on. I didn’t talk about the wonderful birthday dinner! Cat made me a very delicious prime rib dinner, including scrumptious Yorkshire pudding.

You can’t tell by the photo, but it smelled delicious! She used a rub she bought at the new spice store in town. I might have to get some to use when we start grilling again this spring.

To go along with the delicious prime rib and Yorkshire pudding, I made some roasted beets and greens. Here are the two enormous beets I used. They grow them large at Tierra Vegetables! That’s my largest baking pan!

And isn’t the chard beautiful?

This is one of my favorite recipes. I’ve never oven-roasted the beets before, but I will from now on. Much easier than boiling them! You just brush the beets with some olive oil, wrap them in foil, and stick them in a hot oven until they are tender. Since these were so large, they took a couple of hours to cook. But they were in with the prime rib, so it worked out fine. Once they’re tender, just plop them into a bowl of ice water until they’re cool enough to handle. Then, you just rub your thumbs along the skin and it comes right off. Easy as can be!

Then I cube them and toss them into a hot skillet. Or, at least, I would have if I hadn’t left the plastic spatula rest in the hot oil while I was peeling and cutting the beets. I have never seen so much smoke. Nor have I ever seen a spatula melt that much! I really hope my skillet isn’t ruined. It had a significant amount of bacon fat oil and melted plastic in the bottom of it when we took out into the back yard to cool off. So, I had to resort to using my dutch oven, which worked pretty well.

In this case, I also added the red and pink chard stems as well. I also added a couple of tablespoons of balsamico. Once everything is in the pot, I put the lid on it and let it simmer while I rinse and chop the chard.

Once that’s done, I just add them to the top, still a little wet, and put the lid on until the chard starts to wilt. When the chard is soft, everything’s done. Just move it into a serving dish, making sure to mix up the beets and greens. Look how lovely the colors are! I kinda wish we’d cut more chard, so there would be more green. But it probably wouldn’t have fit in the dutch oven.

You can use any greens you have on hand, just remember that they cook down significantly as they wilt. If the beets I have come with greens, I’ll use those, and supplement with chard, spinach or anything else I have on hand.

+ + +

I want to also take a moment to thank everyone who contributed to my online birthday wish. We were able to raise $185 for the Redwood Empire Food Bank.

That’s pretty impressive since I only posted the request on Dec 30th! I have some really awesome friends!

There is still time to donate to my Birthday Wish!

Leave a Reply

