Summertime


I have been enjoying my new patio furniture. It really turns the backyard into a whole new space for me to sit and read and relax. Which I have been doing as much as possible. Too much, it seems. I really need to get back on the training thing.

Our annual Beer n Brats party was a hit. We had a huge turnout, and a whole lot of fun. Some weirdness, but nothing terrible. I spent a good deal of time the week before cleaning and getting the house ready for the party. I’m allowing myself a bit of R&R this week to make up for it. But, to be honest, I’m a bit anxious about it being summer already and I still haven’t gotten everything planted that I’d originally planned. Gotta get going on that.

Today I pulled down the pea vines. I knew I planted them late, so I’m not all that disappointed that they only made it halfway up the trellis, and only netted me about 2 cups of shelled peas. I *am* disappointed to know that of all the bean seeds I’ve bought to replace them, NONE are pole beans. So much for paying attention when picking out seeds. I may have to run to the store and pick up some this afternoon. But then that leaves me with several packets of bush beans to have to plant. I guess they’ll go in the front  yard. I have already planted a couple of tomatoes out there, and an onion or two. I don’t have a real plan for the front, but instead have been just putting things where I feel like they “fit” and have already decided to blend flowers and decorative plants with edibles.

I’m also late on planting my corn. I’m still going to try to get it in the ground this week, and hope for the best. What’s the worst that can happen? I plant it, it grows, and doesn’t make ears? Oh well. That’s not so terrible. And anyway, it’s likely we’ll have a late summer again this year, so maybe it’ll still be OK.

Leave a Reply

