Thankful Thursday – rain break


After last week’s stress-fest, this week has been a tiny bit more relaxed. There’s still lots of work to get done, but that sense of panic has lessened. While my to-do list is still growing, it’s no longer outpacing the done-list.

1. This week, I’m thankful that I have the opportunity every day to spend even a small amount of time outside, even if it’s just walking from my car to class and back. I am especially thankful that the SSU campus is so beautiful. Even in my most stressed moments, I can find some calm just walking between buildings. Yesterday, I happened upon this visitor from the coast, likely brought inland by the rain. I regularly see seagulls around my neighborhood in Santa Rosa on rainy days. This is the first time I’ve seen a comorant this far inland. Sorry for the crummy photo, but I didn’t want to get too close, so I had to use the digital zoom.

Just hanging out by the lake.

2. I was surprised at how happy I was from the rain that arrived in full force on Tuesday. I know it won’t mean much in terms of avoiding a drought this summer, but it was still a nice relief. I was almost giddy. It’s been such an unusually dry winter, it has almost felt unreal. Instead of worrying my little pea seedlings will get washed away, I’ve been worrying that I’m not watering them enough. And every time I walk across the bridge at SSU, while I enjoy being able to study the rocks lining the bottom, it feels strange to not see any water. Well, there’s water now!

Running high, finally!

3. I feel extremely fortunate that every week I get to visit with my friend-farmers. I’m so thankful they’re excited about growing delicious vegetables and fruits for me. Whenever I cook up something delicious with their vegetables, I feel like they’re a part of it. It really is a special feeling to know the folks who produce the food you eat. It seems to add a kind of emotional nutrition.

My awesome friend-farmers!

One thought on “Thankful Thursday – rain break

  1. “Emotional nutrition” – I like that concept. And now that you mention it, I agree that it is a very important component of healthy eating.

    Like

Leave a Reply

